clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jays Care Foundation wins Steve Patterson Award

Congratulations to Jays Care.

You might remember, back in July, we told you that Jays Care Foundation was a finalist for the Steve Patterson Award, given out by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation for "Excellence in Sports Philanthropy" in the "Professional Sports Team Foundation and Community Relations Category". This morning we find out that they are the winner of the award.

Congratulations Jays Care, it is well deserved. From the press release:

The Jays Care Foundation is the charitable arm of Canada's only MLB team, the Toronto Blue Jays. Established in 1992, the foundation has grown exponentially from a regional focus in Toronto to investing in children and communities from coast-to-coast. Their mission is to create equal opportunities for kids in need across Canada by removing barriers to sport and education. Foundation programs such as Field of Dreams and Grand Slam Grant provide funds to children and their communities to learn and play in a safe environment as well lead happy and healthy lives. Other foundation programs include Rookie League, Home Run Scholars and Jays Care Community Clubhouse.

"The Toronto Blue Jays are honored to be recognized by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, an organization that truly understands the power of sport," Stephen Brooks, Senior Vice President of Business Operations for the Toronto Blue Jays, said. "As Canada's only MLB team, the Blue Jays, through Jays Care Foundation, have made a lasting commitment to invest in Canadian children and communities from coast to coast. We are devoted to breaking barriers to sport and education and to building safe, dedicated spaces for recreational and educational youth programming in communities across Canada. The Blue Jays are delighted to be named as a recipient of the Steve Patterson Award for our work in communities throughout Canada and proud to be listed beside recipients of the past."

You can read more about the Robert Wood Foundation here.

Past winners: