clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Blue Jays Webster Award Winners

Joy R. Absalon-USA TODAY Sports

The Jays announced their winners of the Webster Award winners, the teams minor league awards:

  • Buffalo Bisons: Kevin Pillar. Not a surprise, he hit .323/.359/.509 as a Bison.
  • New Hampshire Fisher Cats: Jon Berti. His second Webster, having won in Dunedin in 2013. He hit .270/.323/.373 with 7 home runs and 40 steals as a Fisher Cat.
  • Dunedin Blue Jays: Dwight Smith. Jr. Hit .284/.363/.453 with 12 home runs in Dunedin.
  • Lansing Lugnuts: Mitch Nay. He hit .285/.342/.389 with 3 home runs and 59 RBI.
  • Vancouver Canadians: Franklin Barreto. He hit .311/.384/.481 with 6 home runs, and 29 stolen bases as a Canadian. It is his second Webster, he won last year in the GCL.
  • Bluefield Blue Jays: Richard Urena. Hit .318/.363/.433 with 2 home runs with Bluefield.
  • Gulf Coast League: Juan Kelly: Hit .287/.363/.383 playing first base.
  • Dominican Summer League: Enmanuel Moreta: Hit .287/.367/.437, playing first base in the DSL.

It does surprise me that all the winners are batters, we tend to think of the strength of our system is the pitchers.