clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Johnson, Martinez, Smoltz and Biggio Elected to the Hall of Fame

RVR Photos-USA TODAY Sports

The BBWAA elected 4 into the Baseball Hall of fame. Craig Biggio, John Smoltz, Pedro Martinez and Randy Johnson. Two former Expos pitchers!! Four is a large number for the Writers. In our polls we would have voted in 9: Johnson, Martinez, Piazza, Raines, Biggio, Trammell, Smoltz, Edgar Martinez and Bagwell.

The voting:

Randy Johnson        97.3%

Pedro Martinez         91.1%

John Smoltz               82.9%

Craig Biggio              82.7%

Mike Piazza 69.9%

Jeff Bagwell 55.7%

Tim Raines 55%

Curt Schilling 39.2%

Roger Clemens 37.5%

Barry Bonds 36.8%

Lee Smith                     30.2%

Edgar Martinez           27.0%

Alan Trammell            25.1%

Mike Mussina 24.6%

Jeff Kent 14.0%

Fred McGriff                 12.9%

Larry Walker                11.8%

Gary Sheffield 11.7%

Mark McGwire              10.0%

Don Mattingly                9.1%

Sammy Sosa 6.6%

Nomar Garciaparra 5.5%

Carlos Delgado 3.8%

Troy Percival 0.7%

Aaron Boone 0.4%

Tom Gordon 0.4%

Darin Erstad 0.2%

Rich Aurilia 0%

Tony Clark 0%

Jermaine Dye 0%

Cliff Floyd 0%

Brian Giles 0%

Eddie Guardado 0%

Jason Schmidt 0%

Carlos Degado, and everyone below him, fall off the ballot. I'm sad for Carlos, he deserves a longer consideration. I'd vote for him above Mattingly. Tim Raines totals take a nice jump but I was hoping he'd be above the 60% level. Mike Piazza had a nice job in votes too. Both have a shot at making it never year.

Congratulations to the Class of 2015. Very worthy choices.