clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

World Series Game 4 Open Thread

The Cubs still haven’t scored a run in a World Series game at Wrigley since 1945.

MLB: World Series-Cleveland Indians at Chicago Cubs Jerry Lai-USA TODAY Sports

After last night’s dramatic 1-0 win, Cleveland eliminated the possibility of the Cubs winning the World Series at Wrigley Field this year. With another victory tonight, they’ll take a commanding 3-1 lead and move just one win away from their first World Series title since 1948.

With no DH in a National League park and Mike Napoli hitting jut .184 with a .604 OPS this postseason, he’ll start the game on the bench with Carlos Santana playing first base.

One the mound, the Tribe turn to Corey Kluber on three days rest. It will be interesting to see how fast Terry Francona turns to his bullpen in this game as he’s likely to use Kluber on short rest again in Game 7 if the series goes that far. Pulling Kluber quickly (even if he’s pitching well) would also keep with with the theme of how Francona’s managed the team’s last seven postseason games.

Game 2 of the ALCS: Josh Tomlin threw 85 pitches

Game 3 of the ALCS: Trevor Bauer threw 21 pitches (pulled because of a bloody finger)

Game 4 of the ALCS: Corey Kluber threw 89 pitches

Game 5 of the ALCS: Ryan Merritt threw 49 pitches

Game 1 of the World Series: Corey Kluber threw 88 pitches

Game 2 of the World Series: Trevor Bauer threw 87 pitches

Game 3 of the World Series: Josh Tomlin thew 58 pitches

(Francona also only used Andrew Miller for 17 pitches last night after two days off, so he can lean pretty hard on him if he gets a lead)

Meanwhile, the Cubs will pin their hopes on the arm of John Lackey to even the series at two games a piece and ensure at least a Game 6 in Cleveland on Tuesday night.

Here’s the full lineups:

Today's Lineups

Rajai Davis - LF Dexter Fowler - CF
Jason Kipnis - 2B Kris Bryant - 3B
Francisco Lindor - SS Anthony Rizzo - 1B
Carlos Santana - 1B Ben Zobrist - LF
Jose Ramirez - 3B Willson Contreras - C
Lonnie Chisenhall - RF Addison Russell - SS
Roberto Perez - C Jason Heyward - RF
Tyler Naquin - CF Javier Baez - 2B
Corey Kluber - RHP John Lackey - RHP